Tuesday, October 02, 2012

Record #0130: Poor Little Fool / Don’t Leave Me This Way – RICKY NELSON

Imperial 5528 (original) USA, Jun. 23, 1958
Words & Music by:  Side ASharon Sheeley; Side B – Ricky Nelson
Musicians:  Ricky Nelson (vocals and rhythm guitar), James Burton (lead guitar), James Kirkland (bass), Gene Garf (piano), Ritchie Frost (drums), the Jordanaires (chorus)
Recording sessions:  Produced by Jimmie Haskell at Master Recorders, Hollywood, CA, Side A - Apr. 17, 1958; Side B – April 21, 1958
Highest chart positions: US #1, US Country #3, US R&B #3, UK #4

Nelson had four sessions this month, recording twelve songs for his second album, “Ricky Nelson” (Imperial LP-9050, US LP #7).

Unlike all other singles Nelson released with Imperial, this one didn’t come with a picture sleeve. Nelson objected the release (as the songs were just released on an EP) and as a protest he used his contractual right not to give a picture for the sleeve.

Sharon Sheeley wrote the title song after her break-up with Don Everly. Her next (famous) relationship was with Eddie Cochran for whom she also wrote many songs.

List price:  Very Good+ $15, Near Mint $30

No comments:

Post a Comment