Saturday, November 15, 2014

Record #0605: Tupelo County Jail / Falling Back To You – WEBB PIERCE

Decca 9-30711 (original) USA, Aug. 1958
Words & Music bySide AWebb Pierce, Mel Tillis; Side B – Pierce, Bill Phillips
Musicians: Webb Pierce (vocals), Hank Garland (guitar), Mel Tillis (guitar), Sonny Burnette (steel), Lightnin Chance (bass), Morris Palmer (drums), Tommy Vaden (fiddle on side A), Tommy Jackson (fiddle on side A), Dale Potter (fiddle on side B), Owen Bradley (piano)
Recording sessions: Bradley Film and Recording Studio, Nashville, TN, Side A - Jul. 8; Side B - Jul. 5, 1958
Highest chart positions:  Side A - US Country #7; Side B - US Country #10

Webb Pierce had 52 songs in US Country top 10 in his career; here are two of them.

As usual, he is backed by some Nashville A-Team musicians on this record.

Mel Tillis, who co-wrote the title song, is a country music star, but also a notable songwriter. He has written and co-written many hits of country music, rockabilly, rock'n'roll and pop. Songs like "Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town" by Kenny Rogers, "Detroit City" by both Bobby Bare and Tom Jones, "Emotions" by Brenda Lee and "Bop-a-Lena" by Ronnie Self.

List price:  Very Good+ is $7.50, Near Mint is $15

No comments:

Post a Comment