Saturday, October 25, 2014

Record #0588: The Lovebug Itch / A Prison Without Walls – EDDY ARNOLD

RCA 48-0382 (original, 1st pressing) USA, Sep. 1950
Words & Music bySide A – Jenny Lou Carson, Roy Botkin; Side B – Steve Nelson, Jack Rollins
Musicians: Eddy Arnold (vocals), Side A - Chet Atkins (lead guitar), Loren Otis "Jack" Shook (guitar), James "Guy" Willis (guitar), Roy Wiggins (steel guitar), Chuck Wright (upright bass), Anita Kerr (organ), Vic Willis (piano), Skeeter Willis (fiddle); Side B - Danny Perri (guitar), Roy Wiggins (steel guitar), L.Braun ( upright bass), Vic Lewis (piano), Skeeter Willis (fiddle), Buck Lambert (fiddle)
Recording sessions: Produced by Steve Sholes, Side A - at Brown Radio Productions, Nashville, TN, Aug. 20, 1950; Side B - at RCA Victor Studio 1, New York, NY, Apr. 26, 1950
Highest chart positions:  Side A - US Country #2; Side B - US Country #10

In his career, Eddy Arnold had 91 songs in US Country Top 10! Here are two of those.

"Frosty the Snowman" is probably the most famous song written by Nelson and Rollins.

A bit worn silver print on a green label is pretty hard to capture in a photo ...

List price:  Very Good+ is $25, Near Mint is $50. Second pressing was made on black vinyl; those are half the price of the first pressing.

No comments:

Post a Comment